COVID-19: Information for Hong Kong People Living in the UK, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Russia and Sweden


Latest Updates about COVID-19


General situation


The World Health Organization (WHO) declared the COVID-19 outbreak as a global pandemic on 11 March 2020.  Under such circumstances, apart from maintaining good personal hygiene, reducing social contacts and avoiding non-essential travels, it is important to closely monitor the development of the pandemic and follow the advice and regulations issued by the local authorities. 


For ease of reference, below are the websites of the relevant local authorities of the nine countries covered by London ETO –



Website of the local authority

The United Kingdom










Hong Kong’s response


On 4 January, the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) government activated the “Serious Response Level” for the “Preparedness and Response Plan for Novel Infectious Disease of Public Health Significance”. On 25 January, the “Emergency Response Level” was activated.


The HKSAR government has implemented a comprehensive and co-ordinated approach to contain the spread of COVID-19 and protect the health of the community while maintaining Hong Kong’s position as an international city and aviation hub.  The Government response is guided by three key principles: responding promptly, staying alert to the situation, and working in an open and transparent manner.


The HKSAR government has launched the COVID-19 Thematic Website to disseminate relevant information and useful resources, including health advice, clarifications, a dashboard showing the COVID-19 cases in Hong Kong, and the situation of various countries / areas.


Travelling to Hong Kong


The HKSAR government has introduced travel restrictions and health quarantine arrangements for inbound travellers from overseas to prevent further importation of cases. 


Starting from 00:00am on 25 March (HK time), except for Hong Kong residents, all travellers arriving Hong Kong by flights from overseas countries/territories will be denied entry.  The same restriction will also apply to non-Hong Kong residents travelling to Hong Kong from the Mainland of China, Macao and Taiwan who have been to any overseas countries/territories in the past 14 days.  All transit services at the Hong Kong International Airport will be temporarily suspended as well.  The above restrictions will remain in force tentatively for 14 days.


The existing measure of issuing quarantine orders to all arrivals from the Mainland, regardless of whether they are Hong Kong residents, will be extended to all arrivals from Macao and Taiwan.  They are required to stay at home or other accommodation for a 14-day compulsory quarantine.


Until 23:59 pm on 24 March (HK time), people arriving in Hong Kong who have been to any overseas countries/territories in the past 14 days, regardless of whether they are Hong Kong residents, are subject to compulsory quarantine. 


People arriving in Hong Kong who have been to Daegu and Gyeongsangbuk-do in Korea, Iran, and Emilia-Romagna, Lombardy and Veneto regions in Italy, as well as Hong Kong residents returning from Hubei Province in the past 14 days, are required to stay in a quarantine centre. 


Relevant inbound travel related measures could be found in the COVID-19 Thematic Website. 


Travelling out of Hong Kong


The HKSAR government strongly urges members of the public to avoid non-essential travel outside Hong Kong.  In view of the health risks arising from the persistent and rapid increase in COVID-19 cases worldwide, the Red Outbound Travel Alert was issued on 17 March on all overseas countries/territories.


The COVID-19 Thematic Website has set out our general travel advice for reference.


Useful contacts


For enquiries, please contact HKETO London at, or at +44-(0)20-7499 9821.  HKETO London operates during office hours, and so phone enquiries received outside office hours would be recorded as messages for subsequent follow-up.


For emergency assistance, Hong Kong residents outside Hong Kong may call the Assistance to Hong Kong Residents Unit 24-hour hotline at +852-1868.


For consular service, the consular service hotlines of the Chinese Embassies in the 9 countries covered by HKETO London are listed below for your easy reference:



Consular Service No.

Chinese Embassy in Denmark


Chinese Embassy in Estonia


Chinese Embassy in Finland


Chinese Embassy in Latvia


Chinese Embassy in Lithuania

+370-6860 7740

Chinese Embassy in Norway


Chinese Embassy in Russia


Chinese Embassy in Sweden


Chinese Embassy in the United Kingdom